Why should I renew my Proposition 215 doctors recommendation?
Patients who have a medical condition and wish to use medical marijuana will need a county issued ID card. The MMIC identifies the cardholder as a person protected under the provisions of Prop 215 and SB 420. It is used to help law enforcement identify the cardholder as being able to legally possess certain amounts of medical marijuana under specific conditions.
To apply for the county ID card (MMIC) you will either need to approach your primary care doctor for a recommendation or visit our office and be seen by our doctors on staff. Unlike your primary care, our doctors are well versed in the use of marijuana and can give you specific advise on use peratining to your ailments. We can help guide you through the MMIC process and assist with any paperwork that is required to apply.
Under Proposition 64, patients who present a valid MMIC card do not have to pay the sales and use tax when making retail purchases of medical cannabis, medical cannabis concentrate, edible medical cannabis products or topical cannabis.
If your medical condition requires more than the legal limit of six mature or twelve immature plants, you will need a doctor's recommendation to possess an additional amount of cannabis consistent with your medical needs (Health and Safety Code 11362.77 (b)).
You must be 21 years old to use recreationally. If you have a medical condition, and you are 18 to 20 years old, you will still need a medical marijuana recommendation in order to legally grow or purchase your medical marijuana.
Not all dispensaries have their license to sell recreational use cannabis. With a medical recommendation for your condition, you will have access to all dispensaries, delivery services, and medical only events throughout the state of California.
Your parental rights. (Health and Safety Code 11362.84) With the passage of Prop 64, California courts can no longer rescind or restrict a parent's custodial rights based solely upon the fact that the parent has a medical recommendation for the use of medical marijuana. Instead, the court must look to additional evidence relating to the child's safety and best interests. Note, the possession of a recommendation for medical marijuana use does not mean your parental rights are completely protected. Talk to your family law attorney for the legal impart of Prop 64 on your custodial rights.
For more information or if you have any questions please feel free to contact us. (916) 476-6142
What are your normal business hours?
11:00am-6:00pm Monday to Wednesday,
11:00am-6:00pm Friday & Saturday.
Closed for all major holidays, call the clinic for updated
Do I need an appointment?
Walk-ins are welcomed 11:00am-6:00pm Monday to Wednesday. and 11:00am-6:00pm Friday & Saturday. We also accept appointments, please call to schedule an appointment.
Can I renew if it is expired?
No matter how long it has been expired we can renew it
What if my driver’s license is expired?
If your California driver’s license is expired please bring in documentation from the DMV that you are getting a new license and we can still see you, however it is at the dispensary's discretion to let you in with an invalid ID.You can bring in your new license when you receive it and we will print you an updated recommendation, no cost.
How long is the recommendation good for?
Your recommendation is valid for one year, it will have to be renewed the following year.
Do you only take cash?
At this time we are only able to accept cash.
I need a copy of my recommendation but. I live far away
Unfortunately, we are unable to email a recommendation due to HIPAA guidelines. However, it is possible to fax or mail the recommendation as long as there is a signed release from the patient. There is a $15.00 charge for this service, please call to arrange payment.
Where are you located?
1800 21st Street, Suite 100, Sacramento CA 95811.
What do I need to bring for my
For your evaluation bring a valid California ID, your old recommendation or medical records for new patients.
Can I renew if it is from another doctor?
If you were previously seen at another clinic we can renew your recommendation, just bring in your old paperwork or ID card.
What if my license is from out of state?
If you can provide proof that you are a California resident you can still be evaluated. Examples of proof of residency are: a utility bill, paycheck or pay stub, hunting license,afﬁdavit from a homeless shelter, conceal carry license,residential lease, IRS check, student ID, or bank statement.
How old do you have to be to get a
medical marijuana recommendation?
18 years old, if under 18 you must be accompanied by a parent and provide medical records related to the condition.
Will my recommendation be veriﬁable
Yes, you can be veriﬁed 24/7 online on our veriﬁcation system.
How much can I grow with my recommendation?
You can grow your county limits, (for example Sacramento county is 9 plants indoors). If you need to grow more than your county limits for your own personal use you can apply for a growing permit. For more information please visit: canormal.org
Verify a patient
Doctor's License Number: